So how much did we get for Millennium House?

MillHouse

Millennium House

I am concerned that we are not being told the full story about the Millenniumn House Sale. This is my letter to Ged Fitzgerald. I will, of course, let everyone know when I receive a reply.

Richard

Cllr Richard Kemp CBE,
16, Dovedale Road,
Liverpool L18 1DW
Tel: 07885 626913

Ged Fitzgerald,
Chief Executive,
Liverpool City Council
By E-mail

23rd February 2015

Dear Ged,
I am seriously concerned about the current position with regard to information that I have requested with regard to the sale of Millennium House.
In mid-January I wrote to both XXXXXXX XXXXXXXXX and XXXXXXXXXX XXXXXXXXX and asked them both to let me have details of the sale price. You will recall that Mr XXXXXXXXXX is a serial none replier whom I have had to talk to you about before although XXXXXXXXX XXXXXXXXXX is usually very prompt.
After 10 days or so I had received no reply so I asked them again. I got a reply from XXXXXXXXXXX apologising and saying that she would ensure a reply came through.
This happened but was totally unsatisfactory. It said that the price would be made available through the Land registry. This is, of course, a legal necessity. I am unclear why a city councillor should need to contact the Land Registry about a sales price for a piece of land which is owned by the council! Cllr Malcolm Kennedy the Cabinet Member responsible for asset disposal has made clear to me and others who follow him on Twitter that this information would be made available to me and through me to them.
When I made clear that this was not satisfactory I was told that the matter had been referred to you for a reply. I can think of no good reason why either of the two senior officers that I was in contact with should not have supplied me with this information. I see no reason why you should need to do so.
I am concerned – given the continued willingness of the council to hide things behind a ‘commercial confidentiality’ barrier – that this is what is happening in this case and that we will not be told what the price received for Millennium House actually was. Millennium House is an asset not of the Council but of the taxpayers of Liverpool. They have a right to know what sums have changed hands and I feel that I as an elected representative of the people have the right to get this information swiftly and effectively without needing to spend £16.45 + VAT getting information that the council should be officially putting into the record.
I look forward to receiving from you as a matter of urgency details of the price received for the building and some explanation for the council’s prevarication in making that information available to me.
Yours sincerely,

Cllr Richard Kemp CBE,
Leader, Liverpool Liberal Democrats

About richardkemp

Leader of the Liberal Democrats in Liverpool. . Deputy Chair and Lib Dem Spokesperson on the LGA Community Wellbeing Board. Married to the lovely Cllr Erica Kemp CBE with three children and four grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Liverpool City Council and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So how much did we get for Millennium House?

  1. Catherine says:

    Quite apart from the fact that you are entitled to this information, the Council’s response is the usual ill-informed procrastination they adopt for far too many information requests, because as Millennium House was bought by a company, it is unlikely that the price will be indicated on the title register at the Land Registry. In the unlikely event that the price is indicated on the title register, you can get a copy directly from them for £3, once the sale has been registered (and this can take a while).

Leave a Reply

