Looking for a couple of verbal punch-ups at the Lib Dem conference?

All my friends know that I have always opted for the quiet life. Confrontation – no not for me! Verbal fisticuffs – not my style! Sweetness and light – I always spread them.

That is why I have agreed to have debates at the Lib Dem Conference with two very close friends of mine. One is that delightful chap Grant Shapps. Unfortunately he thinks that the inner city is not a place where people live but a place that people go though on the way to an Opera. He and his boss David Cameron are in a slight muddle about how to deal with these people. Apparently whilst the rest of us like to live in homes in the community poor people respond better if they are given buildings under conditions that will force them to move. I understand that the aim is to create what we in the Lib Dems call ghettoes. I will ever so gently point out to him the error of his ways! Our chummy conversation will take place in Hall 1c at the Liverpool Arena on Sunday 19th September.

When I have recovered from that little one I am sharing a fraternal platform with my Brother Brendan Barber. I have heard Brother Barber on the wireless today. Apparently all money spent by the public sector is well spent, he and his friends (not mine notice) in the Labour Party were nothing to do with running up unsustainable financial deficits, and now believe that the Fairies will bring big pots of money down to earth and supply them to the Government. If not he will picket, Parliament, Councils and the Gates of Heaven to demand changes. I will feel a little constrained by politeness but will also feel the need to point out the error of his ways – that money doesn’t grow on trees and that much of the public sector is poorly run. This session will take place on Tuesday 21st September at 1.00 p.m. at the Panama Club, Albert Dock.

I do hope that you will be able to join me whilst I impart a couple of home truths to these poor folk in the nicest possible way. Alternatively if I am as pissed off with both of them as I feel now you may want to come and watch a  good scrap!!

Richard

About richardkemp

Leader of the Liberal Democrats in Liverpool. UK representative on UCLG Finance Committee, Executive Bureau and World Council. Deputy Chair and Lib Dem Spokesperon on the LGA Community Wellbeing Board. Married to the lovely Cllr Erica Kemp CBE with three children and three grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Looking for a couple of verbal punch-ups at the Lib Dem conference?

  1. David Rogers says:

    Next time you venture to the real south (i.e. not London) come to Lewes District and visit the opera at Glyndebourne, travelling through leafy lanes…………….

  2. Alison says:

    Well done! I’ll try and attend.

Leave a Reply

